Hello….Summer!

Michael Franti & Spearhead perform at the Living Social concert 2011

Michael Franti & Spearhead perform at the Living Social concert 2011

Wow, the past four months have been a bit insane in my world – looking for, and then getting a new job, then leaving the old one behind has been a bit intense; and the reason why I’ve been M.I.A. However, now that I’ve climbed out of the hole known as “Being an Adult” I am now getting ready for the best season – Summer.

For me, summer has always been that time of the year when I would be able to attend concerts, or at least hear them from where I lived on Cape Cod. About 2 miles from my house was theCape Cod Melody Tent – a really neat theater in the round that was literally underneath a giant tent. While growing up I saw acts like The Monkees, New Kids on the Block, Tiffany, The Pharcyde and Kriss Kross (I was tricked by a friend into going to the Kriss Kross concert as I thought it was just Ed Lover and The Pharcyde – the things we do for people).

Part of my crew at Hot August Blues in 2012

Part of my crew at Hot August Blues in 2012

Summer concerts, and music festivals, are such a great way to get out and listen to great music. In the next month I’ll be seeing the phenomenal Alice Smith at Howard Theatre – yes, every time she comes to DC I see her, it’s mandatory – as well as attending the DC Jazz Festival. Being as it’s the 10 anniversary, this year’s Jazz Fest is actually turning into an awesome event. There will be a weekend-long concert at the Capitol Riverfront with the likes of Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue, Gregory Porter, Brass-A-Holics and the awesome Mos Def making appearances. WHAAA!? My fav group The Brass-A-Holics will be taking over at Hamilton Live –one of the “main stages” in the District — and a ton of family-friendly events to get the young ones into the arts. It’ll be five days of pure summer fun in and around the city.

How can you say "no" to helping the children?

How can you say “no” to helping the children?

I’ll admit, I’m a bit psycho when it comes to summertime and the concert options that are laid out — but, I have to say, I can’t pass up any opportunity to, hopefully, sit outside to listen to beautiful music with a cold drink in my hand. So, to make sure I’m not spending the entire paycheck on concerts, I try to at least start building my wishlist around March of every year. Apps like Bandsintown and Songkick are a Godsend to me. I have Songkick on my IPod, and by scanning my music it automatically tags and follows the artists in my library. These lists can be edited and updated by hand, if I want, on its website. What I love about both of these services is that I can determine which city, or cities, I want to keep track of and I am sent push notifications or emails when an artists on my list announces a concert.

Yes, I have at times fallen into a rabbit hole of concert planning, but I’d rather know too much than be caught off guard when someone I really like comes into town and I don’t find out until it’s too late.

So, be forewarned, I’m almost settled in at the new job and I have a ton of concerts I’m about to hit up — this means I’ll be rambling up a storm in the coming weeks. To the folks who have been kind enough to send me clips of their music: I’m not ignoring you, I’ll be listening and posting in the coming day. I appreciate you sharing your stuff with me, and also wanting me to help pass all this good stuff on.

Until the next time…..

About KJStJ

Proud nerd who loves music, animals and making the world a better place
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

